odds ‘n ends

Posted: May 24, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

I finally finished The Children’s Book.  Some books pull you in and force you to dive into their world, making you not want to put the book down until you’ve finished.  I felt initially drawn in, but lost focus later in the story as it devolved from a straightforward tale of the original characters to an in -depth piece on an entire Broadway cast.  It opened well, introducing us to the three main characters and the residence of one.  The writing is intensely descriptive, which is essential as there is much detailed discussion of museum pieces and pottery.  I was vaguely reminded of Hugo’s Les Miserables, social commentary interspersed into the tale.  While certainly the time in which a novel is set is important, it disrupted the flow of the narrative for me, without significantly adding to the storyline. I did enjoy the book, but it is one which I feel should be read multiple times to get the full effect, as well to pick up on something that may have been unnoticed in the initial reading.  I would certainly recommend it, with the caveat that it is not a small book, nor a light one.

I finally watched Memoirs of a Geisha.  Now I want to read the book.  It may spoil the movie for me, which would be too bad, because it was visually stunning, as well as emotionally authentic.  I suspect that reading the book will be a richer, fuller experience and I will have a better feeling for the world of a geisha, especially pre-war.  I look forward to it – but as I currently have half a dozen books out, I’ll just have to come back to it a little later.

Authors I intend to read:  James Patterson, ‘adult’ books leading into Maximum Ride series, and then the rest of the series; Rosemary Rowe, for her series Libertus Mysteries of Roman Britain and Alexander McCall Smith, for his Isabel Dalhousie mystery series ( at least).

The Book of Unholy Mischief, by Elie Newmark is very promising.  I plead guilty to being a sucker for a good story which integrally involved cooking, and the main character here is a reformed street urchin who is apprenticed to a master chef in Venice.  I think the motto for this book is ‘nothing is what it seems.’  I am enjoying it, like the first juicy peach of summer.

Leave a Reply

